ICC Cricket World Cup Will be played at 10 places in India from 5 October to 19 November. This is the first time that India will host this global tournament alone after co-hosting in 1987, 1996 and 2011. Before the tournament begins next month, the Board of Control for Cricket in India is leaving no stone unturned to provide the best experience to the fans. For this bcci has started a big initiative by giving ‘Golden Tickets’ to some prominent people.

Amitabh and Sachin got golden ticket

Earlier this week, legendary Bollywood actor Amitabh Bachchan became the first person to receive a ‘Golden Ticket’ as a special guest. A few days later, BCCI Secretary Jay Shah also presented the ‘Golden Ticket’ to the great batsman Sachin Tendulkar. Former India captain Sunil Gavaskar praised BCCI for this initiative, saying that it is a great way to honor the pioneers in their respective fields.

ISRO chief should also be given a golden ticket

Sunil Gavaskar, who was a part of the 1983 world winning team, also wants that BCCI ISRO chief S. Give golden ticket to Somnath, under whose leadership India landed on the moon. Gavaskar also expressed hope that the BCCI will honor the two World Cup-winning captains, Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni. Along with this, the names of other prominent athletes of their respective fields will also be included in the list of ‘Golden Ticket’ recipients, who have made the country proud in recent times.

Gavaskar wrote this in his column

Gavaskar wrote in his column for Sportstar, ‘BCCI Secretary Jay Shah’s decision to honor individuals who have rendered remarkable service in their respective fields is excellent.’ Let us tell you that till the time of writing this article, Amitabh Bachchan and Sachin Tendulkar have been given golden tickets to watch the World Cup match. Gavaskar further wrote that it is not known how many other people are in the list, but it is expected that the ISRO chief, under whom India landed on the moon, will be one of them.

Some athletes should also be given golden tickets

Gavaskar said that obviously, this ‘golden ticket’ cannot be given to all those who have played for India. But if the associations in whose stadium the matches are being played should be instructed to invite Indian players from their city for the games to be held in that city. This would be a great step. Of course, the two others who deserve the golden ticket are the two World Cup-winning captains, Kapil Dev and Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Olympic and World Athletics Championship gold medalist Neeraj Chopra is another person who comes to mind for the BCCI’s golden ticket.

Names of Rohan Bopanna and Sharath Kamal also included

Gavaskar further wrote that it does not matter whether these people can participate in any match or not. This is an idea that will definitely be appreciated by the recipients. This is a great initiative which is seen in Wimbledon and US Open tennis, where current and former champions are also present. There are a lot of sports heroes in India, and if they are awarded golden tickets, the image of BCCI will really shine. Gavaskar said Rohan Bopanna, who recently finished runner-up at the US Open at the age of 43, and Sharath (Kamal), who is a super legend in table tennis, are two other names who can be given the golden ticket.

2023 World Cup India Squad

  • Rohit Sharma (Captain)

  • Shubhman Gill

  • Virat Kohli

  • Shreyas Iyer

  • Ishaan Kishan

  • KL Rahul

  • Hardik Pandya (Vice-Captain)

  • Suryakumar Yadav

  • Ravindra Jadeja

  • Akshar Patel

  • Shardul Thakur

  • Jasprit Bumrah

  • Mohammed Shami

  • Mohammad Siraj

  • Kuldeep Yadav.

Team India’s match schedule

08 October: India vs Australia, Chennai

11 October: India vs Afghanistan, New Delhi

14 October: India vs Pakistan, Ahmedabad

19 October: India vs Bangladesh, Pune

22 October: India vs New Zealand, Dharamsala

29 October: India vs England, Lucknow

02 November: India vs Sri Lanka, Mumbai

05 November: India vs South Africa, Kolkata

12 November: India vs Netherlands, Bengaluru

World Cup matches to be held in October

  • 5 October – England vs New Zealand – Ahmedabad

  • 6 October – Pakistan vs Netherlands – Hyderabad

  • 7 October – Bangladesh vs Afghanistan – Dharamsala

  • 7 October – South Africa vs Sri Lanka – Delhi

  • 8 October – India vs Australia – Chennai

  • 9 October – New Zealand vs Netherlands – Hyderabad

  • 10 October – England vs Bangladesh – Dharamsala

  • 10 October – Pakistan vs Sri Lanka – Hyderabad

  • 11 October – India vs Afghanistan – Delhi

  • 12 October – Australia vs South Africa – Lucknow

  • 13 October – New Zealand vs Bangladesh – Chennai

  • 14 October – India vs Pakistan – Ahmedabad

  • 15 October – England vs Afghanistan – Delhi

  • 16 October – Australia vs Sri Lanka – Lucknow

  • 17 October – South Africa vs Netherlands – Dharamshala

  • 18 October – New Zealand vs Afghanistan – Chennai

  • 19 October – India vs Bangladesh – Pune

  • 20 October – Australia vs Pakistan – Bengaluru

  • 21 October – England vs South Africa – Mumbai

  • 21 October – Netherlands vs Sri Lanka – Lucknow

  • 22 October – India vs New Zealand – Dharamshala

  • 23 October – Pakistan vs Afghanistan – Chennai

  • 24 October – South Africa vs Bangladesh – Mumbai

  • 25 October – Australia vs Netherlands – Delhi

  • 26 October – England vs Sri Lanka – Bengaluru

  • 27 October – Pakistan vs South Africa – Chennai

  • 28 October – Netherlands vs Bangladesh – Kolkata

  • 28 October – Australia vs New Zealand – Dharamshala

  • 29 October – India vs England – Lucknow

  • 30 October – Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka – Pune

  • 31 October – Pakistan vs Bangladesh – Kolkata