experienced spinner Ravichandran Ashwin Has been included in the Indian team for the three-match ODI series against Australia. If Akshar Patel If he is not fit by the ICC deadline, then he or Washington Sundar may also get a place in the World Cup team. Senior players including captain Rohit Sharma, star batsman Virat Kohli, all-rounder Hardik Pandya and in-form spinner Kuldeep Yadav have been rested for the first two matches. During this period, KL Rahul will captain.

Ashwin played his last ODI in January 2022

Ravichandran Ashwin played his last ODI match in South Africa in January 2022. If Axar Patel is not fit by the deadline of September 28 set by the International Cricket Council (ICC), then Ashwin can be included in the Indian team for the World Cup. Akshar was injured during the Asia Cup played in Sri Lanka. For this reason he could not even play in the final played against Sri Lanka on Sunday.

Washington Sundar also in the team

Off-spinner Washington Sundar, who replaced Akshar in the team for the Asia Cup final, has also been included in the team for all three matches and will be another option for the World Cup. KL Rahul will lead the team in the first two matches while Rohit will take command of the team in the third and final ODI. All the major players will take part in this match before the World Cup starting from October 5. Apart from Ashwin and Sundar, those players who will play in the World Cup have been selected for the final ODI.

Ajit Agarkar said this

Selection committee chairman Ajit Agarkar said that if Akshar is not fit at the right time, then either Ashwin or Sundar can be included in the World Cup team. He said, ‘We have two options in the form of Ashwin and Washington. We will take a decision only after knowing the condition of Akshar’s injury. If needed, we will think about including another player but there is no need to speculate on it right now because we are hopeful that Akshar will be fit.

Rohit Sharma said this

When the Agarkar-led selection committee selected the 15-member squad for the World Cup earlier this month, questions were raised over not including a single off-spinner in it. After the announcement of the team on Monday, captain Rohit was asked that if Ashwin was part of the plans for the World Cup, then why was he not included in the team for the Asia Cup. On this, the Indian captain said that Ashwin does not have to prove anything and he can be directly included in the team if needed.

Ashwin returned to ODI after 2017

Ashwin was dropped from India’s ODI team after the Champions Trophy in 2017. He returned to the ODI team after four and a half years for the series played in South Africa in January last year but after that he was dropped again. Shreyas Iyer, who is struggling with injuries, has been included in the team for all three matches. He could play only two matches in the Asia Cup due to back stiffness.

First ODI on 22 September

The first ODI match between India and Australia will be played on 22 September in Mohali. The second match will be played in Indore on 24th September and the third match will be played in Rajkot on 27th September. After this, the Indian team will play World Cup practice matches against England on 30 September and Netherlands on 3 October. His first match in the World Cup will be against Australia on October 8 in Chennai.

Indian team for the first two ODIs

KL Rahul (captain), Ravindra Jadeja (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Verma, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammad Siraj, famous Krishna.

Indian team for the third ODI

Rohit Sharma (captain), Hardik Pandya, (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel (for fitness On base), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj.

Australian team for ODI series

Pat Cummins (captain), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanvir Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis. , David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Leave a Reply