October 4, 2023

New ED Director: The tenure of current ED Chief Sanjay Kumar Mishra has ended today i.e. on 15th September. According to media reports, in his place, ED has made IRS officer Rahul Naveen as the new director. That means Rahul Naveen will be the new acting director of ED from today. It is expected that he will start taking charge as Executive Director from Saturday. Before this, Sanjay Kumar Mishra had served as ED Chief for about 5 years. At the same time, the Supreme Court had declared the third service extension of current Enforcement Directorate (ED) chief Sanjay Kumar Mishra illegal.

IRS officer Rahul Naveen will be the new acting director of ED.
Let us tell you, IRS officer Rahul Naveen is a 1993 batch officer. Originally he belongs to Bihar. Rahul Naveen is also working as the Chief Vigilance Officer of ED Headquarters. Now the Central Government has given him a big responsibility and made him the acting Director of ED. Now, until any officer is appointed as ED Chief, Rahul Naveen will hold the responsibility of this post.

The Supreme Court had declared Sanjay Mishra’s service extension illegal.
It is noteworthy that the third service extension of the current Director of Enforcement Directorate (ED) Sanjay Kumar Mishra was declared illegal by the Supreme Court. Also, the court was told that he should leave his post by July 31. A three-judge bench headed by Justice BR Gavai had said that as per the previous order of the Supreme Court in 2021, Mishra could not be given extension beyond November 2022. Here, after the order of the Supreme Court, the Central Government had requested the Supreme Court to allow him to continue in the post till October 15. On which the court allowed him to remain in the post till 15 September.

Extension of service was challenged in the Supreme Court
Actually, Sanjay Mishra’s third service extension was challenged in the Supreme Court. While challenging on behalf of a group of petitions, the Supreme Court’s order of September 2021 was cited. Let us tell you, the petitioners included Congress leader Randeep Singh Surjewala, Jaya Thakur and Trinamool Congress MP Mahua Moitra and many others.

Central government had given extensions to Mishra for the third time
It is noteworthy that the current ED Director Sanjay Mishra was earlier appointed as ED Director for a two-year tenure ending in November 2020. After this, he was given a one-year extension in service, which was challenged in the Supreme Court by Common Cause, an NGO. After which the court had granted him extension in its September 2021 decision, as his tenure was ending in about two months, it was clear that Mishra was not to be given any further extension.