To conquer the stronghold in Chhattisgarh, BJP is going to start ‘Parivartan Yatra’ from September 17. This yatra of BJP will go to 87 assembly constituencies. During this time, BJP will put forward the alleged corruption of Bhupesh Baghel government. BJP leaders said on Tuesday that Union Home Minister Amit Shah will flag off the yatra after offering prayers at Maa Danteshwari temple in Dantewada (South Chhattisgarh) on Tuesday. Later Shah will also address a meeting there.

Through this yatra, BJP will take the public welfare schemes of the Center to the people. BJP leaders said that the second Parivartan Yatra will be flagged off by party president JP Nadda from Jashpur on September 15. BJP state in-charge Om Mathur and other senior leaders worshiped the vehicles brought for the yatra at the Kushabhau Thackeray complex here.

BJP leaders said that this is the same bus which the BJP had used for its Vikas Yatra in the state before the 2018 assembly elections. The party was in power at that time. BJP leaders said the bus has CCTV cameras, LED screens, ‘hydraulic lift’ to address the gathering during the journey and other modern facilities. The bus, painted in saffron colour, has pictures of Prime Minister Modi, party president JP Nadda, state chief Arun Sao, former chief minister Raman Singh, leader of opposition in the assembly Narayan Chandel.

Talking to reporters, Mathur said – To increase public awareness and expose the corruption of the Congress government, two Parivartan Yatras will be taken out from Dantewada and Jashpur on September 12 and September 15. Apart from this, we will also make people aware about the public welfare schemes of the government led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and hold meetings with the beneficiaries of central schemes.

State BJP president Arun Sao had earlier said that the first yatra will cover a distance of 1,728 km in Bastar, Durg and Raipur divisions in 16 days, while the second yatra will cover a distance of 1,261 km in Bilaspur and Surguja divisions in 13 days. Under both the visits, 84 public meetings, 85 welcome meetings and seven road shows will be organised. The yatra will culminate in Bilaspur on the same day after covering a distance of 2,989 km across 87 assembly constituencies (out of total 90).

Arun Sao said that Prime Minister Modi is expected to attend the closing ceremony. Bijapur, Sukma and Antagarh constituencies (all Maoist affected) have not been included in the yatra, but people belonging to these constituencies will join the yatra when it passes through nearby constituencies.

Senior leaders from the Center and Chhattisgarh will participate in the yatras. It is noteworthy that BJP had lost to Congress in the 2018 assembly elections after being in power in the state for 15 years. Congress had won 68 seats and BJP had won 15 seats. Last month, BJP had released its first list of candidates for 21 seats. However, the Election Commission has not yet announced the schedule for the assembly elections to be held later this year.

Leave a Reply