1385798 Ipl 2024 2.png

The BCCI has announced changes to the schedule of two Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 matches. Slated for April 17, 2024, the match between Kolkata Knight Riders and Rajasthan Royals at Eden Gardens, Kolkata, will now be held a day earlier on April 16, 2024. Additionally, the match between Gujarat Titans and Delhi Capitals, initially planned for April 16, 2024, at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad, will now take place on April 17, 2024.

Also Read | Riyan Parag Reminds Me Of Suryakumar Yadav At MI, Says Shane Bond After RR Beat Mumbai In IPL 2024

In the IPL release, there is no mention of the reason of the changes but it was earlier reported that it could be to do with the festival of Ram Navmi which falls on April 17. The festival is celebrated widely in Gujarat and West Bengal and it could be one of the reasons why BCCI made the changes as security arrangement could have been a big hassle for the cities of Kolkata and Ahmedabad.

Check updated schedule of two matches here:

S.No Day Date Match Venue 1 Tuesday April 16 KKR vs RR Eden Gardens, Kolkata 2 Wednesday

April 17th

GT vs DC Narendra Modi stadium, Ahmedabad

The league has already seen 14 games. Mumbai Indians find themselves in a spot of bother with three losses on the go. These include 2 defeats in away matches while MI also lost one match, to Rajasthan Royals, at home. Their captain Hardik Pandya also remains a target for Mumbai fans as they gave him a hostile reception on coming back to Wankhede in Mumbai jersey. MI are currently placed right at the bottom of the points table.

On the top of the standings are RR, who have won all three matches played so far in the tournament. Second are KKR who have all 2 they have played so far. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) played 3 and won 2 with their only defeat so far coming against Delhi Capitals (DC) at Visakhapatnam.

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) have a lot to catch up as well. RCB have blown hot and cold in the tournament so far, winning a tight game but losing two one-sided matches, against CSK and KKR.