Prime Minister Narendra Modi said in the Lok Sabha, “Today, tribute was paid to every brick of the old Parliament building. He said that the MPs will enter the new building with new hope and confidence.”

What will happen to the old building?

The old Parliament building was designed by British architects Sir Edwin Lutyens and Herbert Baker. This iconic Parliament building not only witnessed the struggle for independence but also witnessed the rise of the country thereafter.

Government sources say that the old building will not be demolished. It will be ‘retrofited’ to create more space for parliamentary programs. According to sources, “The historical structure will be preserved as it is the archaeological property of the country.”

National Archives will be shifted to the new building

In 2021, the then Union Housing and Urban Affairs Minister Hardeep Singh Puri had told the Rajya Sabha that the existing structure would have to be repaired. It will have to be made available for alternative use. He said that the National Archives will be shifted to the new Parliament House for heritage-sensitive restoration. This will create more space in the old Parliament building. Some reports also say that a part of the old building can be converted into a museum.

How is the new Parliament building?

Prime Minister Modi had inaugurated the new Parliament building in May this year. In the huge building, 888 members can comfortably sit in the Lok Sabha chamber and 300 members in the Rajya Sabha chamber. 1,280 MPs can get space in the Lok Sabha chamber for the joint meeting of both the houses.

4 storey building, no effect of earthquake

This triangular shaped four-storey building has been built in an area of ​​64,500 square meters. The new building is 17 thousand square meters larger than the old building. It will not be affected by earthquake. Its design has been prepared by HCP Design, Planning and Management Private Limited. Its architect is Bimal Patel.

6 doors for entry-exit in the new building

The first three gates of the new Parliament House are named Ashwa, Gaj and Garuda Gate. These three are formal gates. Their names are also Gyan Dwar, Shakti Dwar and Karma Dwar. These gates will be used by the Vice President, Speaker and Prime Minister. Whereas Makar, Shardul Gate and Hans Gate will be used for MPs and public.

Copy of the Constitution will be kept in the Constitution Hall

The biggest feature of the new building is the Constitution Hall. It is being said that a copy of the Constitution will be kept in this hall. Apart from this, big photographs of Mahatma Gandhi, Jawaharlal Nehru, Subhash Chandra Bose and Prime Ministers of the country have also been installed.

Hi-tech office for officers and employees also

There are separate offices for every important work of Parliament. There is also hi-tech office facility for officers and employees. The cafe and dining area is also fantastic. Hi-tech devices have been installed in different rooms of the committee meeting. There is also a provision for common rooms, ladies lounge and VIP lounge.

read this also:-

Complete history of the new and old Parliament buildings of the country – Timeline

There are 6 gates built for entry-exit in the new Parliament House, each gate has its own importance; Know details here