Confusion reigned during the Asia Cup Rising Stars 2025 when a stunning relay catch by India A against Pakistan Shaheens was ruled not out. Nehal Wadhera initially appeared to save a certain six with an acrobatic boundary save, tossing the ball back to Naman Dhir who took a clean catch inside the field. The on-field umpires referred to the third umpire, who ultimately disallowed the dismissal.
The pivotal factor was a relatively new interpretation of cricket’s Law 19.5.2, introduced by the MCC in June 2025. This law specifically governs fielding actions near the boundary line when a player is in the air. The key provision states that a fielder who touches the ball while airborne outside the boundary must regain contact with the playing field before the ball is considered dead.
In the incident, Wadhera made contact with the ball while airborne beyond the boundary. Crucially, he did not return to the field of play before the catch was completed by Dhir. According to the updated rule, once Wadhera landed outside the boundary after touching the ball, it was automatically deemed to have crossed the boundary. Consequently, no catch could be legally completed, and runs would typically be awarded. Dhir’s excellent piece of fielding inside the ropes, therefore, became irrelevant under the prevailing law, leading to the contentious ‘not out’ verdict.
