The Chhattisgarh

Beyond The Region

IND vs SL 1st T20I: Shivam Mavi shines as Team India beat Sri Lanka by 2 runs to take 1-0 lead | Cricket News

IND vs SL 1st T20I: Shivam Mavi shines as Workforce India beat Sri Lanka by 2 runs to take 1-0 lead | Cricket Information

On the Wankhede Stadium, right here on Tuesday, India defeated Sri Lanka by two runs within the gripping opening T20I and took a 1-0 lead within the three-match collection. Younger medium pacer Shivam Mavi earned 4-22 on his debut as India defended a modest whole of 162 runs. India beat Sri Lanka in a last-ball thriller to begin off 2023 with a victory, helped by robust bowling from Mavi, Harshal Patel, and Umran Malik. India wished to take early wickets to place Sri Lanka below pressure with solely a modest 162 to defend, and so they succeeded in doing so, lastly bowling them out for 160 in 20 overs.

Stunned to see Axar bowling the ultimate over? Here is Captain @hardikpandya7 revealing the rationale behind the transfer. #INDvSL #TeamIndia @mastercardindia
— BCCI (@BCCI) January 3, 2023

Shivam Mavi claimed two wickets in his first spell in his debut match, Harshal Patel bagged one other two and Umran Malik took one as India despatched again 5 Sri Lankan batters for 68 runs. Sri Lanka skipper Shanaka and Wanindu Hasaranga added 40 runs for the sixth wicket however simply once they had been wanting like taking the match away, Mavi broke their partnership by sending again Hasaranga.

Hardik Pandya claimed a fantastic catch, coming again to the sector after going out for remedy struck by a bout of cramps whereas taking a catch to ship again Bhanuka Rajapaksa, as Sri Lanka slumped to 108/6 within the fifteenth over.

However Shanaka was nonetheless the dangerman and he struck some lusty blows to take Sri Lanka to 34 wanted off 20 balls, hitting Harshal Patel to a six and 4 within the sixteenth over. He meted out the identical remedy to Umran Mailk within the subsequent over however the younger pacer had the final chuckle when he had the Sri Lanka captain caught within the deep by Chahal in the identical over to sink the final nail within the Sri Lankan coffin.

Nevertheless, there was one ultimate twist remaining within the match as Chamika Karunaratne blasted a few sixes to take Sri Lanka to the ultimate over needing 13 runs. Axar Patel bowled a large and was carted for a six by Karunaratne earlier than Kasun Rajitha was run out off the fifth ball, going for a second run.

Sri Lanka wanted 4 runs off the ultimate supply however Karunaratne couldn’t hit him out and Dilshan Madushanka was run out, trying a second run as India gained by three runs. Mavi had made it doable for India as he accomplished his four-fer when he despatched again Maheesh Theekshana for one, caught by Suryakumar Yadav at long-off with a size ball outdoors off.

Mavi offered India with the breakthrough in his first over by claiming his first T20I wicket on debut. The younger bowler confirmed nice character as he struck after being hit for back-to-back boundaries by Kusal Mendis in his first over. Mavi got here again strongly in his second over and despatched again Nissanka, sending one via the sport to rattle the stumps.

Dhananjaya de Silva was his second sufferer when he acquired the batter to spoon a catch to Sanju Samson with a slower one.

Earlier, Deepak Hooda and Axar Patel got here collectively to lift a quick-fire half-century partnership in fantastic rearguard motion as India managed to succeed in 162/5 in 20 overs after being put in to bat by Sri Lanka skipper Dasun Shanaka, who gained the toss.

Hooda hammered 41 not out off 23 deliveries, hitting one boundary and 4 sixes whereas Patel struck 31 not out off 20 balls (three fours and one six) as India recovered from a precarious 94/5 within the fifteenth over to put up an honest whole.

Transient scores: India – 162/5 in 20 overs (Deepak Hooda 41 not out, Axar Patel 31 not out, Ishan Kishan 37, Hardik Pandya 29; Chamika Karunaratne1-22, Maheesh Theekshana 1-29) defeated Sri Lanka 160 all out in 20 overs (Dasun Shanka 45, Chamika Karunaratne 23 not out; Shivam Mavi 4-22, Harshal Patel 2-41, Umran Malik 2-27) by two runs