The Chhattisgarh

Beyond The Region

Delhi set to welcome woman mayor after over a decade on January 24 | India News

Delhi set to welcome lady mayor after over a decade on January 24 | Information

New Delhi: The nationwide capital is all set to welcome its mayor and deputy mayor on January 24 by the second municipal Home after the December 4 civic polls. Delhi will get a lady mayor tomorrow who will step within the footsteps of freedom fighter Aruna Asaf Ali who was chosen to the highest submit in 1958 when the Municipal Company of Delhi got here into being. The submit of mayor within the nationwide capital sees 5 single-year phrases on a rotation foundation, with the primary 12 months being reserved for girls, the second for the open class, the third for the reserved class, and the remaining two once more for the open class. Delhi will thus get a lady mayor this 12 months.

The place of mayor wielded a variety of affect and carried big status until 2012 when the company was cut up into three separate civic our bodies — North, South, and East municipal companies — with every having its personal mayor. Nonetheless, final 12 months, they have been reunified and the Municipal Company of Delhi (MCD) once more got here into existence.

Additionally learn: Delhi MCD to elect first sole mayor in a decade, set to reconvene on January 24

The December 4 civic polls have been the primary after the three companies have been unified into the MCD and a recent delimitation train was carried out, lowering the overall variety of wards from 272 in 2012 to 250. Thus, after the mayoral ballot, the nationwide capital will get a mayor for town as an entire after a spot of 10 years.

Legislation scholar Rajni Abbi was the final to be elected to the highest submit within the MCD in 2011 earlier than its trifurcation. The MCD got here into being in April 1958. It had begun its journey from the historic 1860s-era City Corridor in outdated Delhi and in April 2010, was shifted to the swanky Civic Centre advanced.

Portraits of Ali nonetheless adorn the chambers of the outdated municipal Home on the City Corridor and workplaces on the Civic Centre. A outstanding road within the metropolis was additionally named after her.

The unification of the North Delhi Municipal Company (104 wards), the South Delhi Municipal Company (104 wards), and the East Delhi Municipal Company (64 wards) occurred final 12 months after the Centre introduced laws to unify them. It additionally capped the overall variety of wards at 250.

A number of former mayors had welcomed the choice and pitched for “better energy” and “longer serving tenure” for the submit of mayor. Following the unification, civic polls have been held on December 4 and the counting of votes occurred on December 7.

The Aam Aadmi Occasion (AAP) received the polls by bagging 134 wards and ending the BJP’s 15-year rule within the civic physique. The BJP received 104 wards to complete second, whereas the Congress received 9 seats within the 250-member municipal Home which is able to convene on January 24 for the second time after the civic polls. The nominees for the submit of the mayor are — Shelly Oberoi and Ashu Thakur (AAP), and Rekha Gupta (BJP). Oberoi is the AAP’s most important contender.

Former mayor of North Delhi and senior BJP chief Jai Prakash stated it was a matter of nice fortune for the folks of Delhi that it’s going to now once more have one mayor for the entire metropolis. “Aruna Asaf Ali was the primary mayor of Delhi, and Rajni Abbi was the final mayor until MCD was trifurcated in 2012. And, after 10 years, once more a lady mayor will likely be on the helm, it’s a matter of nice fortune for each town as nicely the one who will develop into the mayor of Delhi,” he advised PTI.

In April 2011, the then BJP nominee Rajni Abbi was elected the mayor of Delhi defeating her rival Savita Sharma of Congress by 88 votes. Abbi was then a Delhi College legislation professor and is at present serving because the varsity’s dean. After the trifurcation, mayoral elections have been held for all three companies — NDMC, SDMC, and EDMC — in 2012.

In April 2012, Meera Aggarwal was elected unopposed because the mayor of the then newly-created MDMC whereas her occasion colleague Azad Singh had develop into the deputy mayor. In Might 2012, Annapoorna Mishra was unanimously elected because the mayor of East Delhi whereas her occasion colleague Usha Shastri had develop into the deputy mayor.

Additionally, in a keenly contested ballot, BJP’s Savita Gupta was elected as the primary mayor of South Delhi in Might 2012. Gupta, the then councillor from Amar Colony who had polled 66 votes, trumped NCP’s Phoolkali by a margin of 20 votes whereas BSP’s Bir Singh, councillor from Madanpur Khadar, was elected unopposed to the submit of deputy mayor.

(With inputs from PTI)