Capital Records 45% Turnout till 5pm, Likely to Fall Short of 2015 Voting Percentage

Capital Records 45% Turnout till 5pm, Likely to Fall Short of 2015 Voting Percentage

February 8, 2020 0 By Virendra Yadav

There are 81,05,236 male voters, 66,80,277 female voters and 869 third gender voters. They queued up to vote in the 13,570 polling booths across 2,689 areas in the national capital.

President Ram Nath Kovind, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Union ministers Harsh Vardhan and S Jaishankar were among various MPs, including controversial BJP leader Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma, who cast their votes early morning along with their families.

Arvind Kejriwal, who is seeking another term from the New Delhi constituency, cast his vote along with his father, mother and wife at a polling booth in Rajpura Transport Authority in Civil Lines area amid tight security.

Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi, former prime minister Manmohan Singh and former party president Rahul Gandhi turned up at the polling stations early in the day. Sonia Gandhi, who was discharged from hospital after four days following stomach infection, arrived at a polling booth in central Delhi’s Nirman Bhawan.

Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh also exercised his franchise at the Nirman Bhawan polling station.

Rahul Gandhi, Congress MP from Kerala’s Wayanad, also cast his vote at the NP Senior Secondary School in Aurangzeb Lane here.

A polling officer, Udham Singh, posted at Babarpur Assembly constituency in east Delhi died due to cardiac arrest.

There was enthusiasm among voters of Neb Sarai, one of Asia’s largest unauthorised colonies, as young voters came out in large numbers to exercise their right to choose their representative.

The polling will end at 6 p.m. and the results will be announced on February 11.

In the election, the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is making yet another attempt to return to power, while the Bharatiya Janata Party is determined to stage a comeback after 20 years. The Congress, which ruled Delhi for 15 years, is expecting a resurgence in its vote share.

In the last elections, Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP had registered a landslide victory by winning 67 of the 70 seats. The BJP had got three seats and the Congress drew a blank.

The AAP is contesting on all the 70 seats, while the BJP has fielded its candidates on 67 seats and has left three seats for its allies – two for Janata Dal (United) and one for Lok Janshakti Party (LJP).

On the other hand, Congress is contesting on 66 seats and has given four seats to its ally Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD).

The Election Commission has identified 516 locations and 3,704 polling booths as critical voting stations along with 144 vulnerable polling stations and 102 expenditure sensitive pockets where paramilitary forces have been deployed. Activities at each polling station are being monitored through webcasting.

All the five polling stations in Shaheen Bagh, the epicentre of anti-CAA protests, have been declared “critical” by Delhi’s Chief Electoral Officer (CEO).

No tags for this post.